Hello world!

KC Tomato Times

Edition #1

Fellow Gardeners,

I trust that all of you have had plenty of soil under your fingernails the past week or so. The cold and rainy weather has finally left us it seems and next week’s forecast is for 70+ degree highs and lows in the low 60’s. Those tomato, pepper, and eggplant plants should take off really soon!

As for my garden…well, it’s finally starting to look like a garden again. We’re anticipating our first salads next week with buttercrunch and black seeded simpson lettuce, green onions, and French breakfast radishes being almost ready. The raab, spinach and romaine lettuce won’t be far behind and I made a second planting yesterday of lettuces and radishes so we can enjoy salads well into late June before it gets too hot for these spring veggies.

My tomato beds are slowly getting filled up with plants. I’m personally growing about 15 of the 22 varieties I started this year. I just don’t have room (or the time/energy) to grow several of each so we had to make some tough choices. Cherokee Purple will be the big star of the year this season…I’m planning on putting in at least 20 of them so I’ve got enough to share of these amazing fruits! I also can’t wait for that first pico de gallo with Opalka and Brandywine tomatoes along with some lilac and California Wonder peppers as well as a few jalapenos to kick it up!

I am planning on organizing a tomato tasting picnic of sorts this summer. I was thinking mid-late August would be best so everyone would have enough of several varieties that we could all share. I’m thinking a picnic shelter somewhere in town where we cold all bring a few of our tomatoes of different varieties that we could all sample and try different ones. They have these events all over the country…I think it’s time we have one here in KC! If you have ideas for a location or would like to help out with the planning of this event, please let me know.

I plan on sending out a monthly or so newsletter to answer some questions that I get frequently and provide some advice for making your garden successful. If you have any ideas or questions for the newsletter, feel free to ask me or let me know what I could do to make this better. I may consider creating a gardening blog if that’s the format most of you would like to view.

If you are on this list and would like to be removed, please let me know and I will remove your name. I know we all get way too much spam and I don’t want to clutter your inbox with something you don’t want to read. If I mistakenly sent you two copies, please let me know as well so I can remove the duplicate. I’m much better in the greenhouse than I am creating mailing lists!

Well…thanks again for your continued support and as always, feel free to ask me anything you might be curious about and I’ll do my best to help make those thumbs as green as possible!

Sincerely,

James

(The Tomatoman)

P.S. Next week I’ll be posting some tips on staking and fertilizing tomato and pepper plants!

2 Comments »

  1. Jeff Grote said

    Help!!!!!!! I have no tomatos on my plants. Three of my plants are almost seven feet high and still no fruit. It seems that the blooms are dying, what should I do? Help!!!

    • huntoften said

      Jeff…I sent you a reply. Sounds like too much nitrogen and not enough calcium and/or potassium.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

