Spring Gardens in full swing…alllllmost time to plant summer crops!

Bright Lights Chard in a 20 gallon pot

Bright Lights Chard in a 20 gallon pot

I had to shovel almost 2 feet of snow out of my garden paths and off of my beds in late February and early March, but the effort has paid off with some beautiful lettuces, chard, kale, radishes, onions, snow peas, cauliflower, and beets.  I’ve removed the Agribond row covers from my beds as the plants are now getting quite large and the super cold weather is (hopefully!) behind us.

Kale and Kohlrabi

Kale and Kohlrabi

We’ve been having salads several times a week with plenty of lettuce, radish, and green onions.

Red Tide Lettuce Tsunami!

Red Tide Lettuce Tsunami!

Did I mention we have a LOT of lettuce?

Baker Creek Lettuce, Black Seeded Simpson, and Pac Choi

Baker Creek Lettuce, Black Seeded Simpson, and Pac Choi

We can’t get enough kohlrabi, so I planted a LOT of it this year and it’s sizing up nicely so far.

Kohlrabi is everywhere this year!

Kohlrabi is everywhere this year!

The fall planted spinach has been harvested and harvested, but it keeps coming back for more!  A strong root structure from slow growth all winter makes it super resilient to cutting.

Enough spinach to choke Popeye!

Enough spinach to choke Popeye!

One more gratuitous shot of another bed of lettuces and kale.

Romaine lettuce, European Mesclun mix, more kohlrabi and more kale fill this bed.

Romaine lettuce, European Mesclun mix, more kohlrabi and more kale fill this bed.

With the spring crops rolling in, I am eyeing the open spots in the bed and thinking about planting beans, cucumbers, squash, and corn, but the soil is still too cold.  I am going a bit stir crazy being this far behind due to the weather, so I turned my attention to getting my high-tech pepper system ready.  I planted 24 peppers in grow bags today .

Peppers do so well in grow bags...Tripper approves!

Peppers do so well in grow bags…Tripper approves!

I installed a drip system in this bed.  Each bag has it’s own stake and a 1 gallon per hour emitter.  Last year I used 2 gph emitters and found the water ran too quickly and ran out of the bag.  The 1 gph emitters hooked up to a rain barrel work very well.

A happy pepper plant and his own 1 gph emitter.

A happy pepper plant and his own 1 gph emitter.

Mother’s Day weekend is almost here and the long term forecast is looking good for planting tomato plants in the garden.  There may  be one low dip in the temperature the evening of Mother’s Day, but other than that it’s time to get the plants in the ground.  Make sure your soil is not too wet before you work in the garden or you’ll regret it for years with hard clods of compacted soil.

I have PLENTY of extra plants for those of you that didn’t pre-order.  Just stop by Mother’s Day weekend and I’ll hook you up with a garden full of wonderful varieties of tomato, cucumber, herb and pepper plants!

Tomato Plants o-plenty...just waiting for you to plant!

Tomato Plants o-plenty…just waiting for you to plant!

 

 

 

 

 

 

1 Comment »

  1. Corey Kephart said

    Hello – I just found your site. I would like to buy some organic, non-GMO tomato and pepper plants if you have any extra. I don’t need a great deal as my garden is small. Please let me know how I can order or come to your location.

    Thank you!
    Corey
    913-488-8988

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

