Tomorrow’s Lineup!

Tomorrow from 9-noon is my first ever “Open Garden” !  The garden is looking good and should show you what a backyard garden in peak production looks like.  The tomato plants are loaded with fruit and pretty healthy although I’ve lost a few to the curly top virus, and some are showing some fusarium and verticulum wilt, but are otherwise doing fine.  I have 4 beds that have been harvested and are in the process of preparing for late summer and fall crops.  The sweet potatoes are running rampant, the asparagus plants are ferned out, and the okra’s hibiscus like blooms are beautiful  The cardoon is doing whatever it is supposed to o I guess…I need to get it wrapped up and blanched pretty soon I think.  The bean and squash beds are looking a little rough after major harvesting, but will bounce back soon and begin cranking out more fruit right away.  The star of the show right now has to be the 8 foot tall corn stalks with their towering tassels and two ears of young corn per stalk…not ready to harvest yet, but we’re stocking up on butter for the coming weeks!

In addition to cruising around the garden, I’ll have lots of fresh veggies for you to purchase.  I am trying to keep my prices as low as I can, but they won’t be Price Chopper low, nor will they be Whole Foods high.  I think I’m at about what most true farmer’s markets are selling for…those that actually grow and sell their own produce, not the re-sellers you see at the City Market most of the time.  I think the prices are fair, but if you think I’m off my a lot, please let me know and I’ll be glad to work with you.

I’ll have the following for sale tomorrow:  elephant garlic, Russian Red garlic, candy and superstar onions, three types of kale (Dwarf Siberian, Starbor, and Russian Red), several types of summer squash and zucchini, several types of sweet and hot peppers, Armenian and Ancient Chinese cucumbers, and last, but not least Italian and Asian eggplant,

Here are some pics of the beautiful veggies…hope to see you tomorrow!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leave a Reply

