Beet Greens Can’t Be Beat!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I plant my beets very densely so I can thin them and enjoy the greens now and the beets later on in the summer.  The greens are absolutely delicious!  The tops of the greens can be sauteed in olive oil with  little garlic, then give them a shot of balsamic vinegar for an amazing dish.  The stems can be chopped up finely and cooked down in a soup or stew, or if you make smoothies, they make a fantastically sweet and earthy drink when mixed with some yogurt and frozen strawberries.

I still have plenty of spinach, radishes, and salads as well.

Prices are $5 for a huge bundle of beet greens, $7 a gallon bag of spinach, $6 for a salad kit, and $2 for a bundle of 10 or so radishes.

 

I’m open from 8-3 Saturday and 8-noon on Sunday.  Stop by and grab some fresh veggies for your dinners this weekend!

2 Comments »

  1. MEB said

    Oh, wow…You sure know how to sell Beet Greens! My mouth is watering. How about Sunday morning in your cooler? Would that work for you? Also, I could use a couple eggplant plants if you have any to spare. Hope there will be Beets Galore later this summer. Almost our favorite veg, after asparagus! Thanks so much, James. PS: If you do more than the beet greens, be sure to let me know the total I will owe ya. MEB

    ________________________________

  2. huntoften said

    Sure thing MEB!!! What time Sunday morning? I should have beet greens available for the next two weeks I think…depending on how fast they sell.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

